Comments (8)

  • Any suggestions how we can accomplish that? Education starts early, my sons kindergarden teacher treated him as withdrawn ” because he didn’t want to play with the other kiddies, instead he would sit in the corner and look at pictures in a book” This was seven months after he started that class….”Don’t you know Billy can read?”  “Read??? My other kids don’t even know their alphabet”. That little “mistake” wound up costing me 3 years in Dallas Child Guidence before he once again could relate to his age group. We could not afford an AP school and the teachers rebelled when asked to take the TASS test that they expected their students to pass. Yes with all my heart I agree with you on educating the whole child, the parents should carry the most responsibility of that, but we can’t do it alone.

    Sorry, I didn’t mean to sound hateful toward you only the education system. I did go to the library and pick up 4 books, junior readers level (ex: Hardy Boys, Black Stallion, Black Beauty, and one other). I took them to school, told the teacher to open any page and Billy would read it for her. It happened to be one about the horses, he passed the word galloping like it was standing still.  With all my heart I wish I knew a solution.

  • Eh, I dont know.. I felt pretty challenged, but I also did not feel public school prepared me for college, life, or my finances. I felt they taught too must to a test and too little towards life. this is one reason why I liked college so much, because the good professors would make it relevant to my life. I also occasionally had teachers who just passed out worksheets. In college, these were the one page every week papers. I never felt as engaged by these things as I did by major papers, presentation, and class discussions.

    but then again, I can tell you, being raised in Houston, graduating from a class of 657 people, that I know many of the student were not so bored as lazy and just not wanting to be there. I really liked college, because professors didn’t have to put up with that crap, they just made them leave class, then if they were still disruptive OR if they were lazy, they had no problem failing them or kicking them out of the class. I think this is the problem with “no child left behind”. Teachers spend so much time on lazy student and ones with attitudes, trying to change them, that the classes and teaching suffers. Public Education should give every child an opportunity but not baby them and be forced to make them all graduate. Graduation should go to those willing to do the hard work, those who are smart and those who are not as smart but willing to work hard and try to do their best.

  • Many of the statistics are meaninglrss and depend upon the wording of the question and the meaning of the answer.  For example, 83% say they would have worked harder if they wwere more challenged.  Really?  How challenged?  66% say they were bored everyday.  All day or in one class?  Was there anything – even one class – one time – that was interesting.  This study is much too vague, therefore meaningless.

  • School meals for the hungry helps stop tantrums caused by hungry children. Unfortunately protein deprived kids can have brain learning disorder which leads to permanent retardation.

    Having kids academically challenged is a huge topic. Bored children is proof that some kids are not academically challenged.
    Parents are trying to game the system by holding their children back. The older children are more bossy and have more leadership position over their younger peers.@mommachatter -Sometimes schools do not recognize weaknesses like dyslexia, ADD and vision impairment. Seems like schools even have problems having school nurses and some don’t even have librarians.

  • i’ve experienced this. i don’t blame teachers today who are fighting for their very jobs and to defend their worth in red states. i’ve had (in my opinion from when i was a student) good teachers and not so good teachers. it’s a difficult job with tremendous responsibility. 

    i asked my 5th grade teacher a question about Einstein’s theory of relativity which i was studying on my own time. though i was a straight A student she chided me that i shouldn’t be studying that because it was over my head. in retrospect i think she chided me because she didn’t know. in 10th grade my math teacher told me she wanted to have a conference with my parents and i. my father was able to set up an appointment. during that conference she told us my IQ was “through the stratosphere”, in the top 1 percentile and said it was higher than Einstein’s. the reason she looked into it in the first place was i solved problems in ways she herself had to look up in reference books to confirm that my solutions were valid. i didn’t solve them in the rote ways she taught the class, this because i joined the class 4 months into the semester due to health problems.

    how was my 5th grade teacher to know when i didn’t take my first IQ test until 6th grade? how was i to know?  i’m the first to admit IQ is only one player in what one can become. there are so many factors that are as and more important. one thing we need to do though is look at other countries where students excel more than we do…and there are many. we have to stop this pseudo patriotic “The Constitution guarantees the freedom for us to be stupid” mentality and look at reality.

    i don’t blame teachers. so many teachers have helped me forge my life. so many helped me to believe in myself.  

  • It’s all about values.  We as a society should value highly the education of everyone – young and old

  • Have you noticed that high school guidance counselors are almost always the biggest losers in life?

  • I have spent a lot of the time in different blogs but this is really a unique blog for me.
    science tuition singapore

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *